My Climb to My Personal Best

As many can relate, losing weight, the RIGHT way, is not easy. In these months passed since I wrote “Overweight and Pregnant” and “Journey to Find Myself: The Healthier Version of Me“, I have continued the fight to regain control of my weight, nutrition, and ultimately, my life! There have been a few changes; One being that I gave birth to my third boy, Owen, we think he’s pretty cute…

Butterscotch and Berry's Angel Baby-2

And within the first 6 weeks after his birth, I began carb cycling and walking. If you haven’t already heard of carb cycling, personal trainer and fitness guru, Heidi Powell, really breaks it down for you here. I love it so much I ended up buying her husband’s, Chris Powell, book on it, “Choose More, Lose More for Life“. And in the three months I’ve been doing it, it has really changed my life! Having a newborn means I don’t get much sleep, but I can tell the difference in the quality of sleep since I’ve been following his Turbo plan. I have more energy and I’m not constantly hungry, which says a lot since I have the tendency to overeat, but with this plan, I feel full and satisfied. And THAT is an amazing feeling!

As I’ve been healing from my cesarean, I’ve slowly bumped up my intensity levels in exercise. I started going to a weekly kick-boxing class and began training for a 5k. I’m still in training but I participated in The Insane Inflatable 5k in my home state last weekend and had an absolute BLAST! What’s great about this 5k is that it’s all about fun. You’re not worrying about keeping up or your time, you could care less, you’re too busy having the time of your life! I recommend this experience to anyone looking to do the same. Here’s a few pictures so you can see for yourself how much fun it is:

IMG_2370 IMG_2374IMG_2410IMG_2416IMG_2418IMG_2448 IMG_2461IMG_2486IMG_2488IMG_2515IMG_2543IMG_2551

My friends and I chose the team name of “Worst Pace Scenario” , because, well frankly, we’re not great runners and we’re doing pretty well by keeping up!

IMG_2354

Note: Oscar wasn’t on our team but we had to get a picture!

We all got our faces painted because, well, why not?

IMG_2339

5k-1

As you can see by our smiles, we truly had a wonderful time!

I’ve only lost 11 pounds so far but I know I’ve gained quite a bit of muscle and lost some inches around my waist (where it matters most). I try not to look at the numbers because I don’t want to put my self-worth into a statistic or category. I hope to continue to bump up the intensity in my cardio and plan on attending the next local 5k. I feel like committing to these races financially alone is enough to keep me motivated. I’m not a wasteful person so throwing $60 away is not an option.

I admit I’ve had some setbacks and just haven’t been as die-hard as I usually am, but, I can still say, my quality of life is much changed. Which means, I’m on the right track. And that makes me feel good about myself. I’m doing it!

I’d love to hear about your fitness journeys! What sort of changes have you made? What has motivated you most?

The-End2

Leave a Reply

