Fitness Update+Nutrient-Packed Salad Recipe

Nutrient-Packed Salad Recipe by Butterscotch and Berry's- Raw and Vegan Friendly

Hey guys! If you’ve been following me, then you know that I recently started a raw food diet. I’m 30 days in and have already lost 16 pounds! This is very exciting to me after my weight went nowhere for months. It’s so thrilling to see the numbers go down again. What I’ve been doing to get these results has been pretty simple actually. I just grab raw food, toss it together and go. The only thing not easy about this lifestyle is resisting temptation. Which I am proud to say, I’ve passed with flying colors. With this diet, you can’t have a cheat day because it sabotages every progress your body has made. Your body is ridding itself of all the junk and build-up it’s accumulated over the years and cheating is putting the junk back in so it’s like starting over once you do.

I no longer track my food like I did before (which has been a major stress relief) but I did track a few days to give you guys an example of my daily intake (see picture below). I drink a gallon of water a day and I am consuming between 1200 and 1500 calories daily. This is only because I am currently sedentary. Yes, I lost 16 pounds without working out. At all! I have two hairline fractures and an acute fracture in my foot so it’s not really an option right now but I’m hoping to start running and lifting again soon! Now the majority of it fell off in the beginning. So the rest of the month, I’ve fluctuated due to certain…er um.. monthly hormones. As long as the numbers aren’t climbing, I’m happy. And you know something, I really feel a major improvement on my quality of life. My sleep, my concentration, my fog is lifted, my energy is through the roof! I don’t get headaches. It’s really been amazing not to be weighed down by these things. Though they’re small ailments, it’s enough to affect your day. It’s like having coffee without drinking it! I’m only going to do this until December but I’ve really been considering staying on it just because of how GOOD it makes me feel!

Daily Intake Tracker

Did you see those numbers? Did you think, “how in the world did she lose any weight at all?”. That’s what I’m telling you, going raw means it’s okay to go high in carbs and fats. I know that goes against everything we’re told but these are good fats and carbs. These come from fruits, vegetables, seeds, nuts, beans, oils, etc. When you’re providing your body with the fuel it was designed for, it’s easy to flush out the bad fats. Now that you have a peek of what my daily nutritional intake looks like, here’s a salad recipe I eat almost daily. It’s yummy, it’s filling and super easy to throw together! Sometimes I change it up by adding different ingredients like quinoa, beans, seeds, or greens. This way, I don’t get bored!

Lexy’s Insalata

Prep Time: 10 Minutes  Servings: 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz. of Spinach or Kale
  • 1 Large Cucumber, diced
  • 1 Large Carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 pint of Grape Tomatoes, halved
  • 16 oz. Black Beans or Garbanzo Beans
  • 1 Avocado, sliced
  • 1/4 cup of Sunflower Seeds or any raw seeds or nuts that you like
  • 1-2 Tablespoon(s) of Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Himalayan Salt to taste
  • Pepper to taste

Directions:

If you’re going raw, the beans must be soaked in water overnight. If you’re not, you can use canned beans (rinsed and drained). Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, tossing to coat evenly, then serve and enjoy!

Lexy Insalata

Is anyone else on a Raw Diet? I would love to hear about your experiences! And if anyone is interested on learning more about going raw, feel free to ask me any questions and/or read “I’ve gone RAW!“.

Leave a Reply

